ShopFestive/ShopLocal Holiday Gift Guide, part I

November 18, 2010 § 1 Comment

We’re challenging you to shop local microenterprises for the upcoming holiday season. All through the season, I’ll be reporting on my local biz gift-buying successes.  I’ve broken this gift guide down into several archetypes that just so happen to represent the loved ones on my list, but I think you’ll be able to generalize them to suit your shopping needs as well. Got someone you think can’t be bought for locally? I’m accepting challenges!  First up? My lovely sister, who I’m calling the Creative Gourmand.

THE CREATIVE GOURMAND:
My big sis, Rita, is an enterprising craftster who can knit circles around the most seasoned yarnsmiths and can quickly conquer most other creative hobbies as well. This really impresses me given that my first and last foray into knitting resulted in a scarf that was trapezoidal.  Beyond that, she’s a lover of fine food and libations, always one to send amazing recipes my way or dish on new restaurants in Dayton, where she lives. What better for her than the beer pocket apron from local fashion powerhouse Made by AmyD?

photo credit : madebyamyd.com

That’s right, a saucy apron complete with a pocket with a rigid base and drawstring closure, perfect for a bottle of her tasty brew of choice.  Don’t forget the bottle opener keychain that comes attached.

Cost: $38
Where: Wholly Craft, your local Whole Foods, MadebyAmyD.com

Next up? My dad, or, the Dapper Intellectual.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to ShopFestive/ShopLocal Holiday Gift Guide, part I

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading ShopFestive/ShopLocal Holiday Gift Guide, part I at Invest! Educate! Innovate!.

meta

