Shop Festive/Shop Local Holiday Gift Guide, part II

December 2, 2010 § Leave a comment

We’re challenging all supporters of economic development to shop local microenterprise this holiday season.  In part I, I shopped for The Creative Gourmand, and to great success! I ended up choosing a stylish MadebyAmyD apron for my sister, with a special rigid-bottom pocket to hold a tasty brew.

This time, I need to find the perfect token for the Dapper Intellectual in my life. I am lucky enough for that term to apply to many men dear to me: my father, the sharp-dressed professor, my boyfriend, the flat-capped graduate student, my brother, the engineer who cheerfully embraced pink for menswear back in the early aughts, and my roommate, who wore a gold ascot to our senior prom. I’m sure you have a gentleman of discriminating taste on your list this year, and that’s why I am sending you straight to Tigertree in the Short North:

Tigertree is certainly a top destination for bespoke men’s fashions in the Short North Arts District. They also  feature lots of devastatingly lovely women’s pieces, from lines like She Bible and Dear Creatures that are tough to find between the coasts. However, focusing on my giftees, I restrained myself from petting many dresses and ladies’ coats that taunted me.

The space is beautifully curated, with satin and knit skinny men’s ties tucked into antique crates and shoes propped up on vintage luggage. Lovers of the hip and magnanimous TOMS shoes  will find several varieties to choose from, as well as slim-cut mod Ben Sherman suits and buttery-soft screenprinted tees.

From cufflinks to belt buckles and more, this shop has been my go-to shopping spot for the gentlemen in my life for several years.  I ended up grabbing a smart and shiny skinny tie and was so excited for the holidays that when I got home, I wrapped it up in kraft paper and twine and set it on the floor in the living room where the tree stood last year, as our halls are currently un-decked.

Cost: $22
Where: Tigertree, 771 N. High St. Columbus, OH

Next up, I’m shopping for the Greatest Generation, my Grandma Marilyn and my Grandpa George!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Shop Festive/Shop Local Holiday Gift Guide, part II at Invest! Educate! Innovate!.

meta

