Shop Festive/Shop Local Holiday Gift Guide, part III

December 17, 2010 § Leave a comment

In ECDI’s challenge to encourage community members to support economic development by shopping local microenterprises this season, I ventured into the Short North last week. I dropped into Tigertree and handpicked a skinny tie for a lucky guy on my list. A good time was had by all, I even got to pet one of the Tigertree pups.

Today, I am still in the Short North taking in all the boutiques and in search of the perfect gift for my grandparents.  Now, George and Marilyn, as I have never ever called them, were born in 1926 and 1930 respectively. They’ve seen a Depression, a World War, the civil rights movement,  the birth of three children, eight grandchildren, and (count ’em!) ten great-grandchildren. What am I trying to say is that they know that there are more important things in the world than some trinket packaged in candy-cane striped paper, however, I still need to give them some sort of token of love and appreciation! In years past, I satisfied Grandpa’s incorrigible sweet tooth with a gift of baked goodies but the dietary restrictions that accompany advanced age has nixed this possibility. You know what doesn’t say ‘I love you’? A sugar-free cookie.

Really, the best I can do is to give them something modest, but lovely and unique to let them know that I care. So I headed over to the lovely boutique LOOT in the Short North:

The unassuming storefront at 641 N. High St.  belies a rather spacious interior, decked with all manner of uncommon treasures.  From refurbished vintage furniture to stylish wrapping paper and jewelry, it’s hard to categorize their inventory. Their website describes the experience: “celebrating over 20 years in business, our style has evolved into an eclectic collection of furniture, home accessories, and gifts, mixed with clothing, jewelry, seasonal embellishments and more.”

After taking my sweet time combing through all the holiday gems, I settled on these quaint painted acorn ornaments. They’re cute, unfussy and festive, and I figure if I send ’em out now they can live on the 2010 tree for a few weeks before getting boxed up for 2011.

Cost: $3.50 each
Where: LOOT, 641 N. High St., Columbus

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Shop Festive/Shop Local Holiday Gift Guide, part III at Invest! Educate! Innovate!.

meta

